Vegetarian Vietnamese Pho


Having traveled from north to south of Vietnam, I completely fell in love with food. Fresh, delicious vegetables, mixed with spices and all round goodness. During our personal cooking class in Hoi An (you can read more here), we made a variety of dishes including a vegetarian Pho which I really enjoyed making and eating! And so I had to try and replicate this dish as it was so yummy and (also brings back so many fun memories). So here is my very own take on a Vegetarian Vietnamese Pho!

The national soup of Vietnam is a bowl of rice noodles, fresh herbs, and bean sprouts swimming in a fragrant broth. My dish is a slightly different version, however packed with nutrition and flavor and is really light and healthy. Saying this is a bowl of yummy is an understatement!

This soup dish is definitely a staple for those nights we want to eat something light and don’t worry the salt and pepper mushrooms and ginger tofu still give this delicious broth some texture for you to eat as well. Now lets get cooking!

 

2863e007-5e51-4040-b38f-04ae5e63162e

Ingredients (below serves 2) 

Broth

  • 1 packet vegetable broth
  • 1 red onion, sliced (1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • Fresh ground garlic, peeled and crushed
  • Fresh ginger
  • 3 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 1-3 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1/4 cup parsley
  • 1/4 cup cilantro/coriander
  • 1 carrot
  • 2-3 chopped scallions (spring onions)

Pho

  • 1 pkg. rice noodles
  • 1  pkg. baked tofu (I used Nosya sesame ginger baked tofu)
    • Will need to be sautéed in garlic, ginger, peanut sauce and teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro/coriander
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges (optional)
  • 1 medium boiled egg
  • 1/4 mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup scallions (spring onions)
    • Will need to be sautéed in salt and pepper
  • Green jalapeno chilies (optional)

Cooking Instructions 

1. To make Broth: Place all ingredients in large pot with 8 cups water and the vegetable broth. Cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer, covered, for around 1/2 hour. Strain broth, and return to pot. Discard all the solid vegetables.

2. Cut the tofu into small cubes. Cover in garlic, ginger, peanut sauce and teriyaki sauce. Sauté (without oil) over pan for 5-7 minutes so they are little crispy on the outside.

3. Put an egg into water to boil for 3-4 minutes.

4. Wash and cut a few mushrooms. Cover them in salt and pepper and lightly sauté until slightly tender for less than 5 minutes.

5. Cook rice noodles according to package directions (the ones I used just needed to sit in water for 10-15 minutes). Drain, and rinse under cold water. Divide among 2 large soup bowls.

6. To make Pho: Ladle the Broth over noodles, and top with tofu, scallions (spring onions), salt and pepper mushrooms, green chilies and parsley. Add the half cut boiled egg an place into soup. Serve cilantro (coriander) and lime wedges on the side to be stirred into soup.

Enjoy! x

Posted by

Hi there, my name is Deepa Makwana and if you hadn’t guessed already, I LOVE all things food, travel and lifestyle. Since moving from London to New York, I have been wanting to write about my recipes and travel however I was a little afraid to share! But as my mother always says ‘if you don’t try, you will never know’. So I have finally decided to create my own little outlet on anything and everything involving things like where to eat, travels, home recipes, my fav home products or even the best shows I am watching! If I can help in any way – I have achieved my goal! Come on in and have a peak! DeepsMak x

One thought on “Vegetarian Vietnamese Pho

Leave a comment